Pocket-Sized Survival

2 May

Hey everyone! I hope you’re having a good week! I just presented some of my research at a conference (I’m a scientist in “real life”), and it feels so good to be finished.  As prepared as I am for some things, I always  put off getting ready for speeches because I get a little nervous….I’ll have to work on that!

Now, one thing that we apartment-dwellers know is that storage space is hard to come by.  Any preparations that don’t infringe upon our ever-shrinking closets are exactly what we need! So today, let’s talk about something that we carry every day….our wallets.

The few “survival” items that I carry with me in my wallet are neither high-tech nor expensive, but they help out in a pinch. For example, just last week I tripped and fell while on an 8-mile run. My tights protected my legs, but my hands and arms got pretty scratched up. The band aids, sterile wipes, and gauze pad that I keep in my wallet helped patch me up until I could get home ( I was two miles away!) and clean up for good.

So what do I personally carry with me every day?

  • A multi-tool (got this for 75 cents at Radio Shack!)
  • Three or four band aids
  • Gauze pad
  • An alcohol prep pad
  • Small packet of triple antibiotic
  • Four safety pins
  • Two rubber bands
  • An old gift card with a little duct tape wrapped around it
  • Toe warmers (the kind that heat up on their own)

These things don’t take up a lot of space; in fact, they fit in the pockets of my wallet without bulging. I’ve read articles about people who have added some pretty cool stuff to their wallets, such as lockpick cardsand flat compasses.

If you want to turn your wallet itself into a survival tool, check out this neat  tutorial.

What gear do you keep in your wallet? 

6 Responses to “Pocket-Sized Survival”

  1. Melody May 3, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    Great list! I also try to have a multitool with me. I’ve lost/declared/had confiscated or had to give away 2 awesome tools from my carryons at airports in the last 2 years and 1 outside a courthouse because it’s always on me and I forget! Now I carry one outside my checked luggage. Bandaids are a given as a mum to a preschooler.

    • apartmentprep May 5, 2012 at 1:59 am #

      Thanks Melody! I’ve had problems at airports as well, although my brother sometimes leaves his multitools/pocketknives at the airport Lost and Found office….they hang on to them until he returns. I might try that during my next trip.

      • Melody May 5, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

        Great idea! Hadn’t heard of that one yet. T

      • Melody May 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

        *Thanks! (Oops, sent the last too soon.)

  2. LP May 5, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Hi Kate. I came over here from the link you left on my site. This is an interesting article. I was wondering what your wallet looked like, and how everything fit in, especially the multi-tool. Do you have any pics of the setup?

    I don’t fly much at all, and don’t generally go through security, but one time I forgot to remove my knife. I discovered this while in line to enter a stadium for a concert. Luckily, the guy with the metal detector wand gave me only a light search. I believe in looking as average as I can, and I think it helped that time. Sure didn’t have time to go back to the car and leave it there.

    • apartmentprep May 7, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      I do indeed have pictures of the setup! I’ll be posting them as soon as I figure out where I put my camera – ha! It got “lost” in the depths of my suitcase this weekend 🙂

What do you think?

